Skip to content

Date Oatmeal Bars

January 27, 2011
tags:

A few weeks ago, I saw some date squares HERE that made my mouth water!  I bought the dates when I saw them at Costco but never made the bars, I did however make something for the kids with them.  They are really more of a treat than an every day food but hey, I’d rather give them a homemade treat rather than a prepackaged one any day of the week.

After softening the dates I seeded and chopped them, then put them in a pot with some sugar, honey and butter to cook.

While the dates were cooking I combined the vanilla, sesame seeds, oats, salt and raisins.

Once the dates were all mushy and soft I poured them into the oat mixture.

I let the mixture cool for a few minutes and then added in some chocolate chips.  I then pressed it into an 8 inch cake pan but only because my glass pan was in the dishwasher.

I baked it at 350 for about 25 minutes and then let it stand for another 20 minutes before I cut it into squares and dolled it out to the kids.

These were a bit on the crumbly side but I just gave Nay a spoon and he was quite happy.  I’ll definitely make these again, and maybe if  I get around to it I’ll make those date squares too!

 

Date Oatmeal Bars

from Annabel Karmel’s 100 Finger Foods cookbook

3/4 c. chopped and pitted dates

1 stick butter

1/3 c. sugar (next time I make this I’m going to only use a scant 1/4c. as they were a bit sweet for my tastes)

1 tbls honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbls sesame seeds

2.5c. quick oats

pinch of salt

1/2 c raisins

1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips.

 

Preheat oven to 350, line your pan with parchment paper.  Put dates in a small bowl, cover the with boiling water and let stand for a few minutes.

Drain the dates, then chop and seed.  Put the dates in a small saucepan with the butter, sugar, and honey and heat on medium low until the dates are all mushy.

While the dates are cooking combine the vanilla, sesame seeds, oats, salt and raisins.  Mix all the ingredients together and let it cool for a few minutes before adding the chocolate chips.

Once they’ve cooled off and you’ve added the chocolate press the mix into your prepared pan and back for 20-25 minutes.  Allow the bars to cool completely before you cut into them, or remove them from the pan.

 

Happy baking!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 1:05 pm

    What a nice surprise to visit and find that you linked to my blog! Thank you very much, I appreciate it and hope that you do like the date squares if you try them.

    I can see why you found the above bars a little too sweet, that does seem like a lot of sugar with everything else but your bars do look very good and it’s great when the kids give them two thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

