Skip to content

Monthly Menu Plan for February

February 1, 2011

Having a plan for the month in January really made a huge difference for me.  I used to menu plan for the week, spend a lot of time and energy thinking about my menu plan, when did I last cook that, how many times have we had red meat this month, that type of thing.  But with a menu plan for the month I was easily able to make sure that I was getting a good variety of meals.

 

It also made making my grocery list a lot easier since I just had to glance at the fridge door and whip up a list of our regulars and anything that I may not already have in the pantry.  I did end up overspending on groceries this month however because we got a Costco membership and so I bought a LOT more meat than I normally do because even though I only needed one roast I got two because that’s how they come!   Hopefully it’ll all balance out in February because I really can’t afford to spend that much every month!  Ha!

 

So the plan for this much is some old favourites but also some new recipes that look really great from my New York Times Cookbook that I received for Christmas from S. Geek.  Can’t wait!

 

1.  Bruschetta chicken with rice and veggies

2.  Lentil soup with bread and salad

3.  Taco Casserole

4.  Friday Fun Night: Pancakes

5.  Barbeque chicken wraps with celery and carrot sticks

6.  Homemade pizza

7.  Appetizers for dinner: chicken wings, greek salad, (whatever I see at the grocery store ;))

8.  Fish with fries/salad

9.  Cowboy spaghetti

10.  Jamie Olivers Cool Mexican bean wraps

11.  Friday Fun Night: Eggs and Toast with fruit

12.  Linguine in Clam Sauce

13.  Braised Ligurian Chicken (from NYT cookbook)

14.  Pasta and Bean Soup (from NYT cookbook)

15.  Barefoot Contessa’s Chicken with 40 cloves of garlic (this one is a personal fav of mine)

16.  Turkey Baguettes with garden salad

17.  Chimichanga (we skip the frying)

18.  Friday Fun Night: Chicken fingers and salad

19.  Veggie Barley Soup

20.  Italian Drip Beef Sandwiches

21.  Chicken a la Marengo (from NYT cookbook)

22.  Slow cooker Cheeseburger Meatloaf

23.  Fish with fries/salad

24.  Homemade pizza

25.  Friday Fun Night: Hot dog and salad

26.  Tortellini soup with bread and salad

27.  Lasagna

28.  Pork chops with chutney (probably cranberry) with rice and veggie.

 

Mmmmm my tummy is RUMBLING!  Ha!

 

Other than perhaps baking some valentines sugar cookies, I don’t have a whole lot of plans for baking this month.  There was a LOT of cake around for Cake’s birthday so I’m feeling all sugared out.  Though I have to admit that several times throughout the month I thought to myself ‘gee if we had a bag of chips in the house I would totally sit down and eat the WHOLE thing’  I’m glad I know myself enough to not let something like that into the house.  I’m feeling strong and am using my controlling nature for good instead of evil right now and it’s showing on the scale each morning.   Also, I don’t know if anyone else feels this way but now that I’m dieting pretty hardcore, I am SO tired even though I’m not doing too much physically. By the time 9pm rolls around I am toast.  But the problem with that is that the evening is the ONLY time I get to accomplish things for me, like sewing!

 

Don’t tell me that exercise will help, I really hate exercising and I don’t want you to be right!

 

Ugh, Nay just had ANOTHER accident.  Another one.  Off I go to clean up some more pee.  Why am I potty training again?  Oh yeah, because I like not having to wash, dry, and fold diapers every three days.  because scrubbing pee out of hardwood every hour of the day is way better.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    February 2, 2011 12:36 pm

    Are you sure it’s the dieting that’s making you tired? 😉 Or could it be all the other activities you have on the go? Reading it alone makes this Part Time working of boys tired and envious at all you do. :):)

    Exercising is over rated when you have kids!! Running after them is exerise enough if you ask me. My exercise of choice is Pillates and Yoga…and that is for me to RUN away from home to have my own time.

Leave a Reply

