Skip to content

Reddit Alien Pillows – Nailed It!

February 3, 2011

I’ve had a need for sometime now to replace the throw pillows in our basement.  The pillows that were down there were pretty pathetic and I decided that we needed to interject some of S. Geek and I into the basement otherwise known as ‘where giant plastic toys live.’  S. Geek is a pretty big Reddit reader.  He’s on there numerous times throughout the day catching up on the happenings.  I typically don’t go on and read something unless he’s shared it on his reader and even then I usually only get a few sentences in before I give up and move on.

 

But, they do have a darn cute little mascot!  So with that in mind, I pulled out my sewing machine and got down to business.  First order of business is to make a diagram of my little guy.

very detailed, I know.

S. Geek made serious fun of me for this.  I guess maybe I didn’t really need to go into such detail, I could have just remembered on my own that it was white with red eyes but hey why chance it?

 

I traced the lid of my cast iron pot to make the head and then cut it out of some paper my MIL had given to me since she knew I’d be making more of my awesome freehand patterns, greatness I tell you, GREATNESS! LOL, so I made my patterns and then started rummaging through my ‘to repurpose’ fabric bin.  I selected more old dress shirts since I have a huge stash of them and the quality of the fabric is amazing!  I cut four ‘squares’ and then cut out two ‘heads’ to make two pillows.

I use the term 'square' very loosely

I used an old pillow sham as a guide and then just snipped around it.  I don’t recommend doing this, but I did it regardless.  After cutting out my shapes I used heat and bond to adhere the alien head to the right side of two of my fabric squares.  Now it said right there on the package ‘no pucker’ but I don’t know it was pretty pucker-ey.  Maybe I overheated it but it didn’t do this last time I used it.

looks pretty puckerish to me

For good measure I zig zag stitched around the edge after ironing it on to the pillow.  I then sewed on two felt red circles for eyes, and one smaller white circle for the top of the antennae.

I then placed right sides together and sewed up three sides and into the corners of the final side about an inch or so.  After turning right side out and a very quick iron, I stuffed my pillow forms in and hand stitched the bottom closed.  There was just one final touch in order to complete my alien.  A quick dab with some fabric paint to draw on the mouth and complete the antennae.

reddit: the voice of the internet

There you have it!  Nay loved them, Cake was unsure about the whole red eyed aliens and what’s up with that anyway and S. Geek thought I was a genius, which is what I’m going for most of the time anyway.  I’m kind of awesome like that.  I’m hoping to find the time to get in some more stuffed aliens since you can never have too many pillows in the basements for forts and whatnot.  I’m thinking perhaps two feet tall, maybe out of some sort of cuddly fabric?  Do you think reddit intended their alien to be cuddly?  Or fury?  Oh man, I’m going to get it for that I think!

 

Oh, and did you hear?  The Harper Government as agreed to ‘review’ the CRTC’s granting for UBB!  Go Canada!  If you haven’t had a chance to sign the petition against UBB go…HERE and for more information see my POST.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 12:34 pm

    Love the pillows! Cute and comfy!

  2. February 3, 2011 7:51 pm

    Luv it! You are definitely a genius!

  3. February 4, 2011 1:03 am

    These are so cute…I love it!

  4. Paula permalink
    February 4, 2011 4:47 am

    Yes you did nail it. Congrats, they are sweet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

