Skip to content

Cheesesteak Sandwiches Philly or Not, They’re Great!

February 4, 2011

I make sandwiches quite often for dinner because they’re delicious and easy, and can be tailored to individual tastes.  One of my ‘things’ about sandwiches though are that you have to start with good bread.  No wonderbread over here, thankyouverymuch.  I throw together a loaf of NYT No Knead Bread to start, it only get’s better from there.

I then got a skillet nice and hot with a bit of oil and put in my steak seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper.  All I did was sear the top and bottom, it only took about two minutes per side.

 

it'll be very rare, but it's going back in the skillet later.

Take the steak out of the skillet and cover it with a bit of foil or something on your counter.  Leave the hot skillet on your element and add in your onions, mushrooms, and peppers and cook them for about 5 minutes until they’re tender.  After that, throw in the scallions and garlic and cook for another minute or so.

 

I admit for this I used canned mushrooms because that week at the grocery store all the fresh ones were not so much.

While all those veggies are cooking up, go ahead and slice up your steak nice and thin and cut out any fatty bits.  Ew!  Go ahead and add the steak and a handful of cherry tomatoes into the pan and season with a bit more salt and pepper.  While this is heating up, cut your bread to desired thickness and spread some garlic butter onto one of the halves and then add a slice of cheese.  I’d suggest mozzarella or provolone or even swiss but feel free to use whatever you like.

Then top with the meat veggie mix.

Not sure how many calories this is, but it’s a lot.  Bread, meat, cheese.  Yum!  The meat mixture would be great for fajita’s too I bet, this made lots so we had some for a few days; and since I bought that steak on sale it was a super cheap dinner.

 

Here are the ingredients:

oil for skillet

Steak about 10oz

salt and pepper to season

handful of mushrooms, sliced

one medium onion sliced

one yellow pepper, sliced

2 scallions, chopped

1 tablespoon minced garlic

15 cherry tomatoes, sliced

your choice of cheese

Bread (I highly suggest the No Knead Bread but feel free to use whatever you like best, just nothing that gets soggy easily)

 

I hope you give this a whirl, you’ll love it!  I usually serve it with soup or salad depending on whatever I happen to have in the fridge.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 5:28 pm

    If I ate meat I would really love these :). MiriamMeatless Meals For Meat Eaters

    • February 4, 2011 9:43 pm

      even without the steak I bet this would be GREAT, sub in some grilled zucchini or eggplant or portabello mushrooms…YUM!

  2. February 4, 2011 6:00 pm

    Oh that looks so good! Can I come for dinner? Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. February 7, 2011 6:12 am

    Cheesesteaks are my husbands favorite and I have yet to make them for him…You have inspired me! I will have to make them soon!

  4. February 11, 2011 5:14 pm

    I’d seriously LOVE this for lunch! SO good! THanks!

Leave a Reply

