Skip to content

Cheaty Cheater Cheaterson

February 11, 2011

Ok, I seriously am cheating here with this repost of a guest blog I did a few weeks ago but I haven’t blogged in DAYS and I’m starting to feel the symptoms of withdrawal.  You see I’ve hit a bit of a plateau in my weight loss so I’m being forced to…SIGH….exercise. Have I ever mentioned before how much I loathe exercising?  In case you missed it, I would rather dangle giant pieces of chocolate cake in front of my face whilst sticking a fork in my eye rather than exercise.  Buuuut S. Geek wasn’t too fond of the idea of my stabbing myself you know that would probably set a pretty bad example for the kids and all. So I’ve started using the treadmill a couple of nights a week, and getting all of my regular stuff done, and trying to find the time to keep up with my hobbies like blogging and sewing and sleeping.  Anyway, I wrote this a few weeks ago but I’m going to repost it in case any of you missed it.  Next week I’ll get back to some originals, K?

~~~

Like many of you out there I wanted to increase the quality of my family photos in 2011. What a nice thought eh? Yeah, well it can be as easy as experimenting with the way you think about portraits of your kids. Think about it, those studio sittings, everyone’s knees bent facing the same way it all gets a bit stale I think. Plus, those untrained ‘photographers’ at the grocery store make me want to rip out my arms they’re so frustrating to work with! So, why not take better photos at home, every day so that you’ll remember what your kids were actually like!

For a long time I considered setting up a ‘studio’ in the basement but then it occurred to me that I really don’t need that many photos of my kids sitting against a black backdrop grimacing at me while I wave a Dora doll above my head. Instead I went through the internets to find some ways to inject a little something extra into my photos. Read on for some great ideas that I’ve been seeing some great success with!

Change Your Perspective

Lay down on the floor, get up on a chair, place yourself in a different position than what’s normally expected. A lot of times you’ll see photographers take pictures at eye level, but this doesn’t always tell the whole store. Here I’ve taken a picture of my son, Nay, it’s Christmas morning and I’ve framed him with his trucks and taken the picture at a tilt to add some interest in.

Also, just a little side note for those of us that have a little extra padding around our faces. Having a picture taken from above can really help out with the whole double chin look!

Line of Sight

Not all pictures need to have a deep penetrating look straight into the lens. Replacing the line of sight can add a lot of interest for your viewers. Here I’ve got a photo of Cake looking high up and past me at something that is clearly exciting for her. While most people know about the rule to leave space for your subject to look into or move into, it’s also a good idea to break this rule once in awhile and go the opposite way. I tried it, and I liked it! I’m totally singing the Yo Gabba Gabba song with that right now…you go Muno!

Breaking the Rules of Composition

This has got to be one of my favourite photos that I’ve taken in a long time. My husband, S. Geek is dead centre in the frame and it is so painfully obvious he is the subject that it makes it pretty awesome. While the typical composition rules wouldn’t agree with my awesomeness ruling, I think that the story and feeling in this picture have been conveyed perfectly. And that really is the purpose of capturing these memories on ‘film’ (SD card, whatever) to not just have a picture, to have a memory saved.

Focus on a Body Part

This photo is from a baptism shoot I did recently, here the boy is waiting his turn and his Papa is holding on to him. I love the way the boy is ever so gently holding his Papa’s hand, just as if it’s enough to keep him from being worried. I imagine the boy is getting the comfort he needs in this different situation, his Papa helping him along. Also, this is a great example of texture in a photo as well, the soft hands, the leather, the crisp cotton, the glowy lights in the background. Beautiful.

Movement isn’t Always Bad

I received a fancy pants flash for Christmas from S. Geek and while taking some sit downs of the family after the baptism there was a slight disconnect and my flash didn’t discharge during some of the photos and I have to admit, I’m loving the results. Let’s call it a happy mistake, shall we? Here we’ve got Mom and Dad with their recently baptized during naptime little people. The boys were tired, and were completely all done with sitting with Grandparents and Aunts and just wanted to get away. It also helps that these are busy, busy boys who rarely sit still for a minute so the fact that there is some major blur going on is just part of their story. So don’t toss away those shots where the tracers are taking over because they too can be worthy of admiration.

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 1:54 am

    Try not to worry about not posting as regularly as you normally would. Your loyal readers will not drop you! Take the time you need to do the things that you need to do, look after you, your family and your hobbies. When you have time to post, we’ll be eager readers. Take care.

  2. Toni @ Carrigan's Joy permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:17 pm

    I love all the tips you’ve given here! I’d love to take up photography as a true hobby and with these ideas, I’ve got an even better chance of creating more great pics. 🙂

    Also, thanks for following Carrigan’s Joy; I’m now following back.

    And, sadly, I’m the opposite when it comes to weight loss, I love fitness but cant stand counting/cutting calories. Incorporate some weight training into your day and you’ll burn through out while using cardio to strengthen your lungs and heart. 🙂

  3. February 13, 2011 1:51 am

    Ahh weight loss, it is a really frustrating thing, but also important. I think sometimes it is the way I think about the weight loss and exercise that is my doom. If only I can stop thinking about it as something looming over me, and just forget about it as if it is some infernal thing I’m chasing. But how does one incorporate it into their life without thinking about it? Today I was doing some spring cleaning of the blinds and getting so out of breath, I should have put on my heart rate monitor to see if I could actually claim that as part of my exercise for the week. Anyway, I’m there with you on the exercise thing.

    I love your photos. I am not a big fan of studio photos either.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    http://slyneedle.com

Leave a Reply

