Skip to content

Seriously

February 22, 2011

Okay, okay this little rant may make me a tad unpopular, but since I’ve never really cared that much about my popularity I’m not going to let it stop me.  This week United Way is presenting Ottawa Kindness Week.  So the deal is that we as citizens of city of Ottawa and apparently the province of Ontario since our wonderful MPP had a motion passed in Queen’s park thanks for doing an awesome job with our tax dollars now maybe can you do something about the rising costs of home heating? do kind things to promote kindness and to foster community living.  A nice idea, it really really is.  Now before you get the wrong idea about me, I’m not against kindness.  In fact I am a kind and nice person.  Seriously, I’m nice.  I will go out of my way to help you out.  I do things for people without expecting anything in return because that’s who I am.  I forgive and forget, and I’m proud that I can say that niceness is one of my traits.

 

disclaimer: I have had my moments of ‘meanness’ but we all do so please don’t think that I’m sitting here tooting my own horn because I assure you that I am a well versed B*tch when I feel the need.

 

But hot damn, if you think that by being ‘kind’ for a week is going to change anything, I’ll let you know right now that it won’t.

 

Perhaps I’m sounding like a cynic here…I know there is good in some people, I really do.  But I also believe that the vast majority of people only care about themselves.  And to read about ‘Ottawa Kindness Week’ makes me want to laugh out loud because seriously people if you actually cared about humanity or your community or your neighbours and friends then you’d put a bit more effort into kindness and make it a way of life.

 

When I was talking about this with S. Geek the other night, I was wondering about what kind of an opposite week I could have.  You know, like all the selfish Ottawa citizens for a week get to be kind then what could I get?  A selfish week?  Oh yeah, I can see it now…bringing twelve items into the eight or less items lane at the grocery store.  Butting in line at the ATM.  Not using my Green Bin.  Oooooooh how about promising to bring cupcakes to preschool and then ‘forgetting’  I tell you…B.A.D.A.S.S.  But who am I kidding, I’m not going to do any of those things because it’s not right.  For me anyway.

 

S. Geek, who is often my free therapist and sounding board says that my kindness is one of the reasons he married me.  I like surprising people with kindness, but I don’t like it when I’m surprised with ill will.  I am kind, therefore when I’m faced with malevolence I’m often taken aback.  It hurts, even though I’m an adult, it still hurts.  This is what I worry about when I try to instill this quality in Cake.  She is kind too, as I think it’s natural for little kids to be.  It just kills me, that one day she will be met with the same things I have been.  And she will lose that innocence, that idea that not everyone is kind.  But I only hope that I will have given her enough of a tough skin to be able to slough off the spite that society will heave upon her.

 

So instead of participating in kindness week, how about you do something kind every week for the rest of your life.  Then try to not be malicious in your every day actions.  Sometimes these feelings get the better of me too, but in the end I would rather lead a happy and kind life than the opposite.

 

Bacon Brownie

It’s amazing how icky you can feel when faced with reality, luckily there’s a little something called the BACON BROWNIE that makes all things good again.  It’s like a rainbow, unicorn, pot of gold, pink ribbons, and half off shopping rolled into one delicious chocolate package. Seriously.


Hugs,

Jenn

Leave a Reply

