Skip to content

I’m Back!

March 14, 2011

Oh I missed my little bloggy-blog-blog so much!!  I had an awesome little vacation last week with S. Geek and the kids at Smuggler’s Notch in Vermont.  There was lots of skiing and swimming and playing and shopping, even a little antique shopping for me (JOY!!!)

 

I’ll be sharing more about Smuggs a bit later on in the week but for now I wanted to make an effort to post up my menu plan for the rest of the month since it was one of the first 10 thoughts I had when we walked through the front door yesterday.  S. Geek has some travel plans this month, and because of that we’ll be postponing our St. Patrick’s Day celebration to Saturday instead of Thursday.

 

I don’t usually do a whole lot of Irish traditional cooking…everything has potatoes and/or raisins in it for some reason.  While looking around for a recipe to make for dessert for our celebration I even found a chocolate cake…that you make with mashed potatoes…seriously…now I’m usually pretty open minded about these things but potatoes in cake?!?   I decided that I would make an apple cake for Saturday but there may be a chocolate potato cake in my future!

 

on a side note, why or why does daylight savings time equal worlds crankiest kids?!?!?!?!?!?!?  OMFG Nay is having a horrible day today and I may or may not have to stab a fork in my eye to relieve some of the rage.

 

Here’s what the rest of the month looks like for us here in O’Reilly-land

14.  Tortellini soup with bread and salad

15.  White Cheddar Chicken Pasta

16.  Fish and Chips

17.  Green Pancakes with Green Scrambled eggs and peas.

18.  Friday Fun Night Dinner: Chicken Fingers with Salad

19.  St. Paddy’s Day Dinner:  Irish Stew, Colcannon, Irish Soda Bread, and Kerry Apple Cake for dessert.

20.  Turkey Baguettes

21.  Chimichangas (not fried, I like ours just rolled in flour tortilla’s)

22.  Veggie Barley Soup

23.  Pork Loin with mango chutney, rice and corn

24.  Beef Stir Fry

25.  Friday Fun Night Dinner:  Hamburgers!

26.  Slow Cooker Tortellini

27.  Meatball subs

28.  Homemade Pizza

29.  Drip Beef Sandwiches that I had made in February and frozen

30.  Frozen Lentil Soup

31.  Fish, rice and salad.

 

I didn’t include anything this month from my NYT Cookbook but only because I sort of had a backlog of recipes going on and wanted to clear out some from my email.  I have to say that I have been LOVING that cookbook, all the recipes have been amazing and super delicious.

 

Also just a note about the St. Paddy’s dinner, I’m using lamb instead of beef and despite the author’s note regarding the omission of parsnips I’m including them.  We love parsnips here so in they will be!!  Also, I apparently forgot to note down the website where I found my apple cake but I’m sure with a bit of digging I’ll be able to find it again.

 

I have lots of fun planned this week for the kids with shamrock, rainbow and leprechaun crafts in the works so stay tuned!!

 

Erin Go Bragh!!

And to my S. Geek: This year for your travels on St. Paddy’s day I’ll be sure to pack you a green shirt instead of an Orange Shirt xoxoxox

 

No Pinching!!!

Hugs,

Jenn

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

