Skip to content

Sense

March 16, 2011

I’ve had to postpone my post about smuggs as I wanted to take the opportunity to talk about someone for a minute.  As some of my ‘long(er) term readers’ might have seen BK (before kids) I actually had a job that I got paid for.  It was at a bank.  It was…well it served its purpose.  While I never really loved finance or understood it for that matter, I did enjoy the people I worked with quite immensely.  Even now when I’ve been out of banking for nearing three years, I still keep in touch with several of my old colleagues and many of them I count them in the ‘friend’ category of my life and not just on facebook.  I love hearing about their lives, the new houses, the new babies, the weddings, all the life achievements that come with time.

But today I heard about the other end of the spectrum, someone that I worked quite closely with for several years has passed away.   While I have no intention of writing about the illness that took her away so prematurely, I did want to share some of my fond recollections of her.  Since I was pregnant a great deal of the time and she was the mother of teenagers she would often times share her wisdom with me about what she did in certain situations.  When I eventually came into the branch with said littles she would hold and talk about all the neato gadgets we have for baby’s nowadays!  She was the type of person I enjoyed working with, not prone to drama (or at least none that I was privy to) and she was very straightforward.  That is something I truly appreciated, every time she displayed this trait.  She was also very healthy, like yoga/runner daily healthy.  It makes me cry to think that someone who took such great care of themselves had to pass this way.  Sick…it makes no sense to me.  It makes me cry and worry, and makes me weep inside for her teenaged children.  So sad.  She was only 47 years old.

 

photo courtesy of Kevan Burrows.

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    March 16, 2011 8:38 pm

    I’m so sorry that you lost a good friend.

Leave a Reply

