Skip to content

Erin Go Bragh!

March 17, 2011

Now, I may only be married into ‘Irishness’ but S. Geek always says that when we got married I turned Irish so I’m trying to do my best to go all out in a little kid kinda way.  We’ve been crafting, and baking, and on Saturday when S. Geek returns from his trip I’ll be cooking a traditional Irish meal for us.  Incidentally, while I was researching recipes I came across quite a few sites that said that corned beef and cabbage is actually an Irish-American thing.  That surprised me but I was wondering if anyone knew if it was true or not?

 

Anyway, wanted to share a bit about what we’ve been doing.  On Monday there was the green popcorn incident.  Candy corn with green food colouring basically.  The kids did not approve.  OK, on to the next thing.

 

My kids did really like all the crafts I had planned for them and it was nice to put something together for myself for a change.  We got those awesome craft kits that my bestie made for the kids for Christmas but they are pretty much bare now so I scrounged up some stuff and we did some shamrock crafts and of course some rainbows!

making marshmallow rainbows.

pom pom shamrocks

When left alone with the pom poms while I went to the bathroom the kids totally thought it was an awesome idea to fill the cats water dish with pom poms…yeah.

Shamrock light catchers.

scrunchy tissue paper shamrocks.

My girl LOVES crafts...every two minutes she was asking me to take her picture!

Someone had a tantrum mid craft so I took pictures of him.

Our front window adorned with shamrocks.

St. Patrick’s Day is supposed to be sunny and nice here so I’m going to take the kids out for a walk to find as many green things as we can.  I’ve also got another craft for them though I’m not quite sure if making a leprechaun trap will be too advanced for them.  I may settle on turning the tissue rolls into little leprechaun’s using paint and markers.

 

As for me, well I guess I’ll watch Boondock Saints while I wait for my own Irishman to come home!

These guys are supposed to be Irish so it's close enough...even though their accents are atrocious!!

This by the way is another movie I’ve seen five hundred times, I even liked Boondock Saints II…though not nearly as much.

 

Happy St. Paddy’s!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:46 am

    Happy St. Paddy’s Day. Tell your kids that their light catchers look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

