Skip to content

When Daddy’s Away…

March 21, 2011

So I’ve dropped S. Geek off at the airport again…picked him up only 24 hours ago and he’s off.  He was gone all last week so I’m pouting a little bit right now.  As I was walking off the baguette I had for dinner tonight I was trying to think on the bright side since I’m often in these circumstances.

 

Cake photobombing S. Geek and I

So while I grouchify on the couch here’s a little list about all the fun awesomness we get to do when S. Geek is away.

1.  We get to light incense and make the house smell pretty.

S. Geek has a super sensitive nose and he hates scented things.  So when he’s away I let the kids smell all my incense sticks and we choose ones to burn.

 

2.  We play upstairs in the bedrooms.

Since S. Geek works from home we have remain pretty quiet during business hours.  Buuuut when he’s gone we have the run of the house and we certainly use it.  Woody and Buzz Lightyear have been known to save Babydoll and Stuffies from the evil Emperor Zurg while flying down the staircase.  Always exciting here.

 

3.  We have either peanut butter sandwiches or grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch every day.

What can I say?  My kids really like sandwiches and when I don’t have to fancy it up for S. Geek I don’t bother.

 

4.  I let Nay scream.

Nay is like me a bit cranky.  He always often whines to get what he wants.  Even tonight, he bit Cake on the arm so I told him that I would be taking his Woody doll away for the rest of the evening and he was in full out crank mode.  My loving daughter was pleading with me to give it back to him…’Mommy if you give Woody back Nay will stop crying!’  She was trying so hard to convince me, it was sad really.  But when S. Geek is home while working then I can’t really let Nay be upset because he is just so dang loud!!

 

5.  We skip dessert.

S. Geek has the sweet tooth in this family and he is often the driver behind dessert.  Maybe it’s just the fact that I’m on a diet but if he’s not here I never offer dessert to the kids and most nights they don’t even think to ask about it.  Makes it a lot easier to resist the sweets this way…now if there was a bowl of chips on the table then I don’t know if that’d be as true.

 

So there, the bright side.  The silver lining.

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:29 am

    Awesome pic of you guys!!

  2. Robynn permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:53 am

    Wow, what a great pic of you guys! Frame that one for sure!

  3. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:43 pm

    Yes, great pic of the two of you. It’s always nice to have *them* home but a little break to allow you to do your own thing on your own schedule is fun too!

Leave a Reply

