Skip to content

One Last Mention of St. Paddy’s

March 25, 2011
tags:

So as I mentioned before, S. Geek was away on St. Paddy’s so I sort of booted our ‘celebration’ to the following Saturday because I’m crazy like that. I collected some greenery and some fun stuff at the grocery store and made us some delicious Irish fare.

The soda bread was super easy and wonderful.  I made ours without the raisins though since Cake isn’t a fan of bits of fruit in her bread.  The kids loved that they could just tear off a piece of bread for themselves, no cutting tonight!!

I also didn’t brush it with the buttermilk-melted butter ‘glaze’ because I forgot didn’t see the point.

The colcannon was really nice as well, we spooned colcannon into the soup bowls and then put the Irish stew on top.  Heaven.

To the stew, I added parsnips and also made it with lamb instead of beef.  S. Geek said the lamb was perfectly cooked, better than the restaurants he so frequently visits.  *me beaming with pride*

I didn’t take a picture of the apple cake.  We had some.  Cake spit hers out.  Right on the table.  But then again, it had cut up apples in it and this is exactly the type of thing that she completely disapproves of.  I think the recipe has potential it just needs a bit of tweaking.  Here’s the original:

Kerry Apple Cake

175g/ 6oz butter
175g/ 6oz caster sugar
2 eggs, beaten
225g/ 8oz self-raising flour
2 medium cooking apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1tsp lemon rind
2tbsp demerara sugar
pinch cinnamon
pinch nutmeg

Preheat oven to gas mark 4/ 180°C/ 350°F, and grease and line a 900g/ 2lb loaf tin. Cream butter and sugar. Gradually add eggs and flour. Stir in apples and lemon rind. Pour into the tin and sprinkle with sugar and spices. Bake for 1- 1 1/2 hours.

 

For starters, I would incorporate the nutmeg and cinnamon into the batter, and change it to a teaspoon each.  I’d also shred the apples, but that would only be so that Cake doesn’t show her displeasure quite so dramatically.  I’d also cut the sugar by about a third and maybe instead of sprinkling more sugar on top I’d layer very thinly sliced apples in the peel on top.  OKOKOKOK after you put sliced apples on top go ahead and sprinkle a bit of dark brown sugar on top.  I’d also say that it absolutely  needs 90 minutes to bake, I had mine on convection and even at 90 minutes it was still a little underdone in the middle.

So what’s next?  Easter eh?  Time to get my thinking cap on for some fun new projects I guess!

Hugs,

Jenn

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    March 25, 2011 2:31 pm

    Looks like a great time was had by all around the dinner table! Laughed when I read *Cake spit hers out right on the table!*

  2. March 25, 2011 3:40 pm

    I think this is a recipe my mother would adore – my step father is 100% Irish and she love to make his back home favorites!
    This is PERFECT for my new linky party, Foodie Friday. Please stop on over and link up!
    Oh – and found you at French Country Cottage!

    • March 25, 2011 3:43 pm

      Sorry – I tried to erase this one because I has the wrong referrer on it! Well, I guess if you haven’t linked up at French country Cottage now is the time! 🙂

  3. March 25, 2011 3:40 pm

    I think this is a recipe my mother would adore – my step father is 100% Irish and she love to make his back home favorites!
    This is PERFECT for my new linky party, Foodie Friday. Please stop on over and link up!
    Oh – and found you at Home Sweet farm!

  4. March 26, 2011 1:06 am

    Found you through Walnut Avenue…

    I love Irish food so this cake sounds very doable for us sometime. And the stew looks good! I love lamb.

Leave a Reply

