Skip to content

Apron Lovers Unite!

April 14, 2011
tags: ,

Last week while on my computer hiatus I got a request to help out Maranda with an apron.  I didn’t have one suitable to lend her for her purposes but I did have meters of fabulous fabric to make her something gorgeous!  Since I was digging out my pattern anyway I put out the call on facebook to see if any other lovely ladies out there would want an apron from me since it’s just as easy to make a bunch of aprons as it is to make one.

 

My patterns is a really simple one, and I’ll tell you how I made it.  I started by measuring my favourite apron and then adjusting it for where I needed (a little longer and a bit wider across the chest.)  Then I folded a large sheet of paper in half and drew out my pattern leaving room for a 5/8 ” seam allowance.  I decided to do a band across the waist for the tie and then a velcro closure for the neck.  I also had some cute little buttons to cover up the stitching where the velcro was sewn on.

As I always try to do, I used up some of the old dress shirts that have been given to me by various family members.  I actually did all the waist and neck ties using dress shirts so it took a bit of extra time to cut those pieces all out and sew them all into long strips.

So I actually made the aprons double sided so I cut out eight apron forms for four aprons, made four waist ties (which took the longest because they were about 75″ long) and four neck ties (24″long.)  After sewing all the ties together I placed the right sides together for the apron and sewed all the way along the edge (5/8″ seam allowance) except for the seam right along the neck where I turned it right side out.  After I turned the apron I pinned the neck tie inside and then top stitched along the top.  I supposed you could have top stitched the whole thing, but I didn’t.  I then put the velcro on the other side of the tie, and the corresponding spot on the apron and added a cute oversized button to hide the stitches.

It was at this point that I was getting pretty tired but I was almost done.  I added the waist tie and simply top stitched it into place centering it on the apron.

It was only the next morning that I realized that I cut the fruit salad apron material upside down.  Yeah…guess that one’s for me!  Ha!  I’ve got a really challenging project coming up that I’ve been thinking about for a bit.  It’s a request from my Dad.  I haven’t put any ideas on paper yet, I like to mull things around in my head for a bit before doing things.  Plus I actually have to find the time to go to the fabric store and purchase what I need.  Double HA!

 

Anyway ladies, I hope you enjoy your aprons; it felt good to get my machine out again and make something fun.

 

Hugs,

Jenn

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    April 14, 2011 1:54 pm

    Really cute aprons! Love aprons 🙂

  2. Rachel permalink
    April 14, 2011 4:20 pm

    They look awesome even the upside down ones are uber cute!

  3. April 15, 2011 7:42 am

    Those are great! I should make one, my sewing machine needs dusting off right now.

  4. April 17, 2011 11:18 pm

    Cute aprons! I love the aprons! Thanks for linking up with me for Friday Favorites.

  5. Shannon permalink
    April 18, 2011 12:48 am

    WOW!! Great job!

Leave a Reply

