Skip to content

Keeping Busy

April 15, 2011

Before I get into today’s post, just want to take a sec to wish my Dad a very happy birthday, hope you have a great day!

Sorry for the low qual iphone photos but I had to take these quick as the kids were heading down the stairs and I wanted to get pics before they discovered I had finished hot gluing the house stuff together.  It took approximately 45 seconds before the mail box was ripped off the front of their play house.  I foresee many re-glues in my future.  This is a project that Cake has been working on all week while S. Geek has been away on his latest trip.  She has dutifully spend every afternoon working on the painting and plans for her house.  She even painted pictures on the inside of the walls to pretty up the place.

She painted the box all red first and then added blue polka dots.  There’s a pink mail box complete with party invitations and other mail.  There’s a speaker on the outside of the house because you’ve got to have tunes for when you’re playing outside.  The door is cut a little lopsided but she doesn’t seem to mind that much.

There’s a garden window box on the back that we filled with beautiful spring blooms which Cake pretty much did herself.  I had to help her cut out her handprints but she led the way on those flowers.  It’s hard to tell but there’s also a chimney on the top made from some taped together toilet paper rolls and a paper plate.

Nay didn’t really participate too much in the making of the house since Cake did it all pretty much during his naptime, though he did make some mail for the mail box.  He wouldn’t really let me trace his hand either, but I asked him when he woke up from a nap so I wasn’t really that surprised.

Cake had a super time making this and is really proud of it, she keeps saying how daddy is going to be SOOOOOOO surprised!  If this thing makes it until Easter I’m totally going to hide eggs all over this thing!  But since my little Cake is not known for being gentle with her toys I’m not going to hold my breath!

Speaking of Easter, man oh man I’m way behind on the prep for that!  Haven’t even looked at what’s out there for the good little bunny to leave this year.  Suppose I should really get on that since S. Geek is going away again next week…insert eye roll here…I’m also not even going to mention that I haven’t even started the seeds for our garden.

Aaaaaaaaand there goes the speaker off the side of the house, I may need to use some sort of industrial strength glue for this.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    April 15, 2011 1:21 pm

    Happy Birthday to you Dad. Love the house that Cake made & decorated!

  2. Shannon permalink
    April 18, 2011 12:50 am

    Yes Happy B-Day to you Dad!!
    Let C know that I can’t wait to see her house!!! She is just so YYYUUUUUMMMMYYYY!!! Yes I’m biased but really she’s special in the special good way. 😉 Yep one dose of C makes my month. :):) Love the boys but a girl is just so much fun too!!

Leave a Reply

