Skip to content

Focus

April 18, 2011

This week I thought it would be fun to participate in Captial Mom’s Monday Moment, go give her some love!

Focus means a lot to me, when I’m thinking about photography I can focus on my subject and focus on what I’m trying to say.  I see the light coming through the back door in the morning and see how my cat is focused on staying in it’s beam for as many hours as possible.  It’s also one of the ways my kids are especially different.  Nay has focus.  He is intensely focused.  He should be, he’s my child my minime.  He doesn’t like interruptions, and often ignores them.  His focus is most often recognizable when he’s sitting at the table with his papers and markers and crayons.  He’s drawing and pretending to write and he’s as silent as a ninja.  Not Cake, she jabbers away talking about anything and often talks about everything that flies through her mind; varied things.  Things that happened a long time ago, things that would be cool, things that could happen, oh just things.

Nay stays focused on his papers.  He ignores my calls for clean up time, for snacks, for the possibility of tv time.  He is me, just smaller.  I am focused in the morning.  Get up, get dressed, get the breakfast for the kids, get done.  I wonder about Nay if he will be able to harness his focus the way that I never could.  Will he focus this way as he grows?  Or will his focus get the better of him and I will be unplugging whatever the future SNES will be to get him to come to the table for dinner?

As I write this, he is playing trains.  He follows the path that we built with his cousins a few days earlier.  Choo! Choo! He calls out as he moves the train cars around and up and down and around.  His sister is barraging him with questions about where the trains should go, he is ignoring her.  Her voice sings out over the sound of the trains on their wooden tracks as she makes up stories about where the trains go and what she is delivering.  Only silence meets her, he is focused on what his hands are doing and where the trains are going.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 12:26 pm

    It’s neat how we all relate to the world. Some kids can get some invested in things and others are happy to be distracted away.
    Thanks for playing along! Don’t forget to link up from my blog post today!

  2. April 18, 2011 5:40 pm

    It is fun when you recognize yourself in your child isn’t it. Well when it is a good happy like focus anyhow 😉

Leave a Reply

