Skip to content

Confetti Table Runner

May 20, 2011

I subscribed Cake to a kids magazine last month and we received our first issue this week!

I remember when I was a kid in school, I always longed to have my own subscription to this magazine.  Our school library had one but by the time it made the rounds to me the puzzles and games had already been used so I never really was able to enjoy it fully.  Cake loved the magazine, we read the stories and poems and did all the puzzles together (in pen.)  It took us about 45 minutes to go through it all and at the end was a game, a craft, and a recipe!!  Cake wanted to do the craft right then but since it was very nearly bedtime I declined and let her know we could do it after preschool.

We started out by cutting out some tissue paper in to squares and rectangles.  Both my guys are great with scissors, Cake sometimes holds them incorrectly but after reminding her she corrects herself and she’s good to go.  I tried to convince her that our confetti table runner would be even better if we drew pictures of ourselves to add to the middle.  This was not in the instructions in the magazine so Cake said no.  She likes rules.

I took about a three foot length of wax paper and set it out infront of the kids.  We then arranged the confetti on top of the wax paper.  We had to do this about 3 times because one of the kids would have a big breath and send the tissue paper flying.  Cake did it twice, I think she did it the second time on purpose.

Once everything was arranged I laid pieces of contact paper on top and then trimmed the edges.  The kids smoothed out the bubbles and then admired their work!

This was a great craft, coming from a great magazine.  I just checked their website, it says they’ve been in print since 1946!  I’m a little scared to imagine what the first issues were like…ha!

I know that our cute little table runner will likely not see a whole week before it’s demise but the kids really liked this craft, I can’t wait for the next issue to come in the mail!

Happy Crafting!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 2:00 pm

    Cute! I’m sure Cake is very proud of having her own *magazine* come in the mail for her. Great job on the table runner by the way kids!

Leave a Reply

