Skip to content

Downtooooooown

May 30, 2011

S. Geek and I went out for a totally amazing overnight date this weekend. He was basically home for about 72 hours so we took off, rented a hotel room in downtown Ottawa and left the kiddos with my parents. We did share the city with a couple tens of thousands of people though, because it just so happened to be Capital Race Weekend as well! Luckily we managed to get downtown before too many roads had closed and just parked the car and went out on foot.

We had dinner at Luxe, and while the service was a tad slow the atmosphere was perfect and our waiter was very attentive. After going for a wonderful walk around the market and then up to the Parliament we stopped in for some dessert at a restaurant called Oh So Good. And hot damn, it was! I had a double decker fudge cake and even though I was already super full I ate every last crumb. It was very yum.

There were loads of people all over the place but it was still nice.  We had a wonderful time walking all over, holding hands but then my ankle started to act up and we had to head back to the hotel for me to put my feet up.

In the morning we were awoken by the start of the race.  It was loud, we were on the 19th floor and we could year the roar of the crowd.

view towards Ottawa city hall

 

view towards Chateau Laurier

Go runners!  Ha, I was sitting in my hotel room with my room service breakfast while all these people ran on the streets below.  I was joking with S. Geek that if my ankle ever got better that maybe I’d train for a marathon but then when we were leaving the parking structure we saw a whole bunch of runners who were finished and they were all severely limping and that changed my mind.  I don’t know how they do it, good on them!

I am so lucky to be able to do this.  I can’t thank my parents enough for taking the kids from us for the night, and to S. Geek for twisting my arm so that I’d actually go!  So full of love right now!!

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    May 30, 2011 12:05 pm

    Looking good!! glad you had time with each other. 🙂

  2. May 31, 2011 1:28 am

    So sweet that you *got away* together. You look pretty darn happy. Just what the Dr. ordered 🙂

Leave a Reply

