Skip to content

Tap-Tap-Tapenade!

June 21, 2011

I totally went to Florida.  I left my kids, stepped onto an airplane and met S. Geek in Florida.  It was awesome.  It was freeing.  It was fun.  Oh, and it was HOT!  But I’m not writing about Florida today because I totally want to share this recipe because it was DELICIOUS!  So the story goes: once upon a time I got on an airplane and went to Florida.  While I was there I had to eat at restaurants that don’t have toys that come with meals.  Because that’s what you do when you go on vacation without your children, it’s law.  I totally looked it up.  I went to a restaurant called Zaitoon’s.  They gave you tapenade to eat while you waited for your meal.  It was the best damn thing I had put on my precious palate, in feels like, forever!

 

Since returning home and bringing with me the sunshine, you’re welcome I have been thinking about tapenade.  I wanted some, badly…so what’s a girl to do?  Get out that magic bullet of course and make up some GOLD!

So, yeah I know, it’s pretty nasty looking.  But once you get passed the anchovy you can easily enjoy this tasty treat.

Here I have:

Roughly 1 cup of pitted kalamata olives.  (I was hoping to get some green olives in here too but the ones at the store were ‘Le Sketchy’ so I only bought the kalamata)

2 tablespoons of capers

4 minced garlic cloves

1/4 c chopped flat leaf parsley

2 anchovy fillets

2.5 tablespoons EACH lemon juice and good olive oil.

Whirl all those yummies in your magic bullet or blender to your desired consistency.  I would have preferred mine a little less blended but I was enthusiastic so next time I’ll know better.

As I’m sure you can guess, it’s salty.  But, even S. Geek who isn’t a salt maniac loved it.  Also, this dish?  She ain’t so pretty.  Just close your pretty little eyes and dive in.  You won’t regret it.

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 1:45 pm

    Love that you got away to Florida! Certainly re-energizes you doesn’t it!

Leave a Reply

