Skip to content

Basil Pesto

June 28, 2011

That, my pretty’s is two cups of packed basil picked fresh from my lovely basil plant outside my back door.  It is the first of my plants to yield anything this year and I have  been picking and picking and it keeps growing and growing.  I love you basil plant.  I love your aroma, your sweet flavour, you are easy for toddlers to chew, and are reportedly good for immune systems.  I like mixing you with other delicious flavours and spreading you on crackers or topping pasts with you.  You are so divine.

heaps of garlic, some pine nuts some oil and my bountiful basil blended makes one of my favourite toppings.  Basil pesto; you are perfect.  While I have tried many variations of you, this is my go to recipe.  It lasts for 4 days in the fridge or until I hoard it all and eat all of it in two or three sittings and freezes very well.

Also, it takes longer to pick the basil and wash it than it does to actually make the pesto.  This makes it a super awesome food in my opinion…it’s colour however keeps my kids from eating it sadly.

Neither Cake nor Nay would even take the smallest little bite of my pasta.  More for me.

2c. firmly packed basil leaves

3/4 c. grated parmesan

1/4 c. pine nuts

1/2 c. olive oil

lots of garlic, at least 5 tablespoons or to taste.

Throw it all in the blender and whirl it away.  Enjoy!!

Here’s the basil use in the number two position:  Caprese Salad!  I’ll be making some of that this week I think, yum!

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 1:48 pm

    Wonderful! So nice to walk outside and pick your own fresh grown herbs isn’t it. Somehow they just taste so much better than if you had picked them up at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

