Skip to content

Florida Trip

June 29, 2011

Does anyone know how long it’s been since I’ve done a craft or sewn anything?  Yeah, neither do I…this must be remedied this week.  Priority!  That’s not to say that I’ve been sitting around on my bottom all summer though, remember that brief absence at the beginning of the month?  I spent it in Jacksonville, Florida with just S. Geek.  No kids!  My awesome parents came to stay with Cake and Nay and I flew down to Florida all by myself.  For those of you who know how much anxiety I get from new situations flying all by my lonesome without S. Geek had me really worried.  I had to change planes, navigate and unfamiliar airport, be on time, manage to empty my bladder at strategic times so that I wouldn’t have to use the airplane bathroom I know I’m not the only one who does this and I had to not cry throughout the whole process.  I have to say that I’m actually pretty proud of myself for actually doing this.  I only got lost one little time in the Chicago airport but found myself in enough time that I was able to sit down and relax for a few minutes before boarding my next plane.  I have to say that the staff in the Jacksonville airport were the nicest people ever!  In fact the staff in the Washington and Chicago airports were just as nice, it was only when I got back home to Ottawa that I encountered some cranky people.  Go figure!

 

But, enough about the airports I actually had three whole days in Florida and enjoyed every minute of it.  I admit, I slept.  A LOT.  Like, sleep in until 10am go out, come home at 2pm and take a nap while S. Geek worked, get up at 4pm and go out and then go to bed for the night at 11pm.  Yes, I am boring.  But OH THE SLEEP!!!

 

We went to the beach every night.  It was far to hot to be out there during the daytime so we went after dinner and walked for hours.  We collected little shells to bring home for the kids (they added them to their dinosaur sensory bins) and just generally talked about nothing.  It was awesome!

I’m not really sure why, but there were dead jelly fish all over the place.  Seriously, like every ten feet we had to step over one.  No one else around us seemed phased by this though so I guess it’s normal?!?!  We were the crazy pale people walking around all ‘whoa there’s another one!!!’  Losers.

Other than sleep and walk the beaches, we shopped and ate.  I think I visited Target four times in the couple of days we were there.  I bought myself a couple of adorable dresses from Khols and picked up a cool shelf thingy to store all my coffee for my Keurig machine.  Everyone down there wears maxi dresses, they were every where.  I never thought I’d find one for myself that I liked since I’m so tall but I did find a really cute one that has black and white stripes that came home with me.

I really enjoyed having a chance to spend time with S. Geek.  Sometimes it can get hard to keep a marriage strong when he travels so much because when he is home I have so many things I need him to do.  And I want him to spend time with the kids too but I almost never really get uninterrupted time with him.  We talked about so many things, and amazingly after ten years of being together we still have that much to say to each other.  It’s pretty great.

That was the longest, by far, that I’ve ever been apart from the kids.  I thought about them a lot but I knew that they were in great hands and that they were happy.  It made it easy for me to leave, thanks Mom and Dad for taking care of the kids.  You guys are great. I don’t know how S. Geek can handle it.

Also…the seagulls there are black.  WEIRD!

Getting away for mini-vacations is awesome, I think I’ll have to do this again sometime.

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 5:30 pm

    Good for you for making the trip to FL to meet your husband! So nice of the grandparents to take care of the kids so you two could have this lovely break together. You are a sweet looking couple!

Leave a Reply

