Skip to content

Red Currant Cream Scones

July 18, 2011

We have a monster red currant bush in our backyard right beside compost way.  I wrote about it last year when I shared my recipe for red currant pie, a treat I usually make just once or twice a year if we’re lucky.  This year, however I have been too lazy to go to the grocery store to buy lemons so the first of the delectable goodies coming from my red currant bush is sweet red currant cream scones.

I’ve mucked around with scone recipes in the past and tried adding in whole wheat flour in varying measurements but to me, nothing is as good as a scone made with white flour.  The rise is so nice, they are quite light compared to when I’ve substituted in the whole wheat flour.  And since red currants only come once a year and for a rather short period of time I wasn’t going to bother about with changing a sure thing.

That sure thing, by the way, is the cream scone recipe from my favourite cookbook The New York Times Cookbook.  It’s been awhile since I’ve mentioned it but amidst the salad’s and barbeque I’ve still kept my little green eye on that perfect red spine waiting for just the right ingredient to come across my path.

I found this mini scone pan at Homesense a few years ago and it is by far one of my favourite pans. I love you mini scone pan!

The recipe is so simple, it doesn’t even require a mixer.  In fact the less you mix, the better.

2 c. flour

1/3 c sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 c cream

1 c. red currants

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, use middle rack.

Mix the dry ingredients thouroghly and then make a well in the centre.  Pour the cream into the well and then mix the dough with a fork until almost combined.  Add in the red currants and mix until the currants are evenly distributed, don’t overmix.  Shape into 8 regular sized scones and place on an ungreased cookie sheet two inches apart.  Or use your really pretty mini scone pan and fill until almost to the top.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until every so lightly golden brown.  Cool on a wire rack.

Or cool for five minutes then pry one out with a knife and eat it while it’s still steaming, whatever I’m easy just not cheap.

I think in the original recipe it said to brush the tops with more cream but I forgot I didn’t do that.  They still taste like deliciousness.  Red currants are and easy bush to take care of, as in I do nothing to it other than pick berries off of it and it thrives.  You should plant one, they’re great!  I’ve got about 5 cups left in my fridge, enough for a pie for sure but I’d really like to make some red currant jelly this year too but that needs 12 cups of berries and I’m not sure my slaves children will be able to pick enough for me to make jelly.  We shall see….<insert evil laugh>

Hugs,

Jenn

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

