Skip to content

Baby Shirt Keepsake

July 25, 2011

I made one of these for my own house about 6 months ago and had intended to make a similar one for my bestie as well but time just seemed to escape from me and well I’m making it for her now as she prepares to move into her new home.

Here’s mine above, I didn’t choose their newborn shirts I liked these ones a little bit better since I wanted to illustrate the boy – girl and also how big Nay was compared to Cake.  Nay was a hefty 9lb something and Cake was a nice normal 7lb-er.  I also loved the pretty fabric for the back, I wanted something that was feminine for my girl but in masculine colours since Nay is a boy.  I think I nailed it.

So start out by measuring how much fabric you need and then I trimmed with pinking shears.  Then I ironed out the fabric and also the shirts that I was going to be using.  I tried to fit in two onsies and two pajama’s but it looked too cluttered so I resorted to just having the onsies in there since they are so tiny and adorable.

I did a test placement to fit them into place and then when I was satisfied I made some monograms for the boys and a little postcard with their full first name and date of birth.  I should mention that these two are twins that you’ve heard about HERE and HERE and likely a bunch of other places that I don’t care to dig up right now.  They were teensy weensy preemies when they were born but have thrived in their three years and I’m predicting will surpass their mothers height by the time they are thirteen of course that’s not really all that hard.

I love these little boys, I hope they will look up at these shirts as they grow and will marvel at just how teeny they were and how much they’ve grown.  Oh, and to their mom I sometimes weep when I look at Cake and Nay’s little shirts hanging in my hallway, you should expect to do the same.  Love ya!

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robynn permalink
    July 25, 2011 10:13 am

    Thank you Jenn! I love it! It already brings a tear to my eye.

  2. July 25, 2011 7:07 pm

    Adorable. Such a cute idea.

Leave a Reply

