Skip to content

Busy Bee

August 16, 2011

(heeheehee when I first typed in my title I accidentally wrote ‘busty bee’ teehee!)

Nay’s third birthday is coming up and this year we are having a birthday party for him.  (We decided when the kids were really little that we’d only have a party for the kids every other year and alternate with a small family celebration.)  So I’ve been busy working on menu’s and activities and favours for all of our little guests.  I come across THIS link forever ago and it’s been waiting for me to have the time to make it.

 

I much prefer to make something to give to the kids rather than a box of dollar store stuff (now that I know how quickly that stuff seems to accumulate) and so I thought these adorable scarves would be perfect.  Never you mind that it’s the middle of August, we life in Ontario and before you can snap your fingers it’ll be below freezing again and the summer of HOTtawa will be over.

 

I did make a few minor changes to the original idea.  They are:  Used two 7X12 rectangles for the pocket instead of the listed 7X7.

Also, when sewing the flannel to the fleece I placed right sides together and then left an opening to turn it right side out.  I top stitched about four of the scarves out of the nine I made and if I happen to have some time I’ll go back and top stitch the rest since I like it better that way.  Also, if I had to make more of these I would not leave the raw edges on the slit where you pull the scarf through.  But that’s just me, I’m not a raw edge type of person well most of the time anyway.

my model isn't wearing any pants.

 

Cake picked the 'girl' fabric and Nay picked out the 'boy'

 

I had plans to to make some banners and bunting for his party too, but it’s only five days away and I’m not sure that it’s going to happen.  Maybe for Cake’s birthday…

 

Hugs,

Jenn

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 6:56 pm

    What a great idea! You did a super job and the parent’s (kids too) will love them this winter (brrr!)

Leave a Reply

