Skip to content

Pawter

August 30, 2011

Pawter stressing after seeing the suitcases come out for one of S. Geek's trips

Strangely my son and my dog share a birthday.  Pawter of course is several years older and will be turned 7 on Sunday while Nay is just three.  Pawter is a Pembroke welsh corgi, he is adorable and aside from when he is depressed about S. Geek leaving he always has a smile on his happy little face.

Pawter loves people and is super friendly, though very protective of the kids.  He loves to be outdoors, though he’s not much of a walk lover.  He prefers the cold weather to the hot and will often choose to bury himself in the snow when laying outside in the wintertime.  His favourite spot to ‘hang’ is underneath our kitchen window in a little cove, one day when I have spare time I’m going to make a sign to hang up above it.

Pawter loves getting brushed but hates getting his teeth brushed.  He barks at everything that passes by our front door, even if it’s not alive.  He barks at you when you sneeze, I’ve no idea why.  He loves to eat, he has been known to open the bottom door to our composter and eat out the soil.  This was very gross, again I’ve no idea why.  His favourite people food is banana’s which he gets pretty much every morning.

Pawter sleeps in my bedroom with me every night, but because of his short legs he can’t climb on or off the bed so we have a pet murphy bed for him in our bedroom.  He is still getting used to having kids in the house, Cake and Nay try to play with him sometimes and he’s still unsure.

Sometimes I think he will drive me crazy but he really is a wonderful dog.  He is happy and friendly and is very well behaved aside from the barking of course. I love his crazy radar ears and his short stubby little paws.  I love the colour of his coat and how it’s water resistant.  I’m trying not to think about the fact that as a dog with a lifespan much much shorter than that of a humans he is now entering the last half of his life.  I feel guilt for not being more attentive to him during the early child years, and also for not walking him as much as I should.  He has had weight issues and I know that if I don’t get them under control he will be having hip problems so that has been weighing on me quite heavily.  He deserves to live a happy healthy life, and I think for the most part he does.  I’m not really sure where I’m going with all of this, only to say that I’ve been really evaluating my status as a dog owner and I think there is room for improvement.  Challenge Accepted.

Happy birthday Pawter!!  This year will be the best one yet, I know it!

Hugs,

Jenn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanilla Bean Baker permalink
    August 31, 2011 1:55 am

    Happy Birthday Pawter! Hope you have a great year 🙂

    p.s. Not to scare you Jenn but I read in the Citizen this week that compost can be very toxic for animals, especially dogs. The article was in yesterday’s paper I think and written by the Vet, Dr. Poukay. You should check it out.

    • August 31, 2011 2:21 am

      yes, I read the same article and couldn’t believe my vet didn’t tell me! The trap doors to the composts have now been barricaded with bricks to prevent him from getting in there again. Thankfully Pawter didn’t get nearly as ill as the dog in the paper did, he was just pretty sick for about 3 days.
      Thanks for the heads up though!

  2. Lauren @ 31 diy permalink
    September 5, 2011 1:30 pm

    Pawter is so cute!

Leave a Reply

