Skip to content

Pretty-ing up the Place

August 13, 2010
tags:

I love table runners.  A lot.  I have many, but there’s one problem with that.  They cost a lot, or at least they do when you buy them for every month season.  So when I started sewing earlier this year I knew that runners would be one of my first projects.  I wanted to start simple without any tassels or beads because hey, I’m still new to sewing afterall.  Oh, and I have small people who love shiny things and a cat who loves dangley things.

Choosing my fabric was hard, only because I love them all so much!!

textured strawberries, on a blue background and green and brown polka dots on a white background

I also cut a length of quilt batting at the last minute to make it a bit on the cushy side since I’ll be putting heavy things on top of it.

Pin everything together, batting on the bottom, then the fabrics right sides together, on top of the batting.

Not all my fabrics were cut exactly the same size.  It didn’t matter, when I finished with the trimming it all turned out the same.

Stitch all the way around, make sure you pivot in the corners.

Also make sure you leave a good enough hole in the stitching to turn the runner right side out.

I left about 8 inches of space.

Before turning, trim the edges as close to the stitching as possible, and cut the corners.

get as close as you can, but don't risk cutting the stitches.

Turn the runner right side out, poke the corners with a needle or pencil but be sure not to poke through the fabric like I did.

Afterwards give it a little iron and turn in the opening so that it’s a nice flat hem easy to topstitch.

Thought I'd give you a polka dot top this time

I top stitched with a 5/8 inch seam and it worked quite nicely.

I thought about stitching around a few more times quiltey style but it was getting late and I was anxious to see what it looked like!!!

Here’s the strawberry view:

My fav, but I'm not sure S. Geek will approve of this one...

And the polka dots:

I think S. Geek will be partial to this side so I've left it this way for when he gets back from his trip.

There!  The first of what will likely be many homemade runners!  So simple but since our house is 90% wood anything fabric that gets added injects so much warmth into the home.

Anyone else out there have problems with having too many hard surfaces in their home?  We have all wood and tile floors, with mostly wood furniture so sometimes it can get a bit loud here with all the sound bouncing off of everything.  Ah well, a bit at a time I guess.

Check out the sidebar for where I’m linking up on this beautiful Friday!!!

Hugs,

Jenn

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 2:37 am

    Thanks for stopping by – Happy Weekend

  2. August 13, 2010 3:09 am

    Thanks for following! I love this runner and think I have a space that could use something soft and sweet like this too! Must add to the never ending Must Try Project list! So excited to be a follower of your blog that, after reading just a few posts, has already had me laughing! Thanks again and have a great weekend!

  3. August 13, 2010 3:38 am

    Your runners are really cute, you did a great job on them!

  4. August 13, 2010 4:33 pm

    Cute table runners! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Now following back.

  5. August 13, 2010 4:41 pm

    Thanks for stoppin’ by for a Latte’. I like how versatile your table runner is. Just flip it over and it’s a totally different look. Very crafty!!!

  6. August 13, 2010 8:05 pm

    I’m your newest follower from Design It Chic
    LOVE the table runner. I don’t think my Hubby would approve of that fabric either. LOL I would love to do our whole house in Pink Paisley, he won’t agree. 🙂

    http://www.supermommy2three.blogspot.com

    Jessica

  7. August 13, 2010 10:18 pm

    Thanks for following me! I’m following you by RSS Feed, couldn’t find your followers button.
    Songberries

  8. August 13, 2010 11:13 pm

    Hi there I am your newest FFF friend!
    Please stop by and say HI:)

  9. August 14, 2010 12:49 am

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog today and following. I don’t see a follow button on yours, I’ll explore again.

  10. August 14, 2010 4:33 am

    Cute table runner! I need one for my table..l

    Thanks so much for visiting!

    Hannah
    http://youngancrafty.blogspot.com/

  11. August 14, 2010 10:30 am

    Thanks for the follow! Love the table runner, both sides!

Leave a comment