Skip to content

Weekly Menu Planning

August 24, 2010

I guess you can probably tell that I’m a bit of a planner, eh?  Yes, I admit I have a certain addiction to planning, organizing, and analyzing and thinking…and thinking and thinking.  I swear, I spend so much time planning things sometimes it feels as though it’s not even real when it happens.  The truth is though that I thrive under these types of circumstances, I am methodical and organized.  I am in the beginning stages of Christmas planning, the end stages of execution for Nay’s upcoming birthday party, and somewhere in the middle for our fall plan.  My fall plan isn’t limited to just our ‘want to do’ list but the crafts I have planned for the kids, what I want to teach Cake and Nay, and what lessons I want them to learn.  This past summer has been all about fun and all about seeing where the day takes us but as I look at the last year of my time with Cake before school takes her away, I don’t want to waste a minute of it.  I want to enrich her as much as I possibly can.  It is so scary for me, and I’m sure for all parents coming up to the beginning of school career’s to worry if I have done enough to prepare.

OK, I guess I’m rambling a bit.  It’s okay, it’s been a long day.  Nay accidentally drank a whole sippy cup full of sour milk so I’ve changed about forty thousand diapers in the last few hours.  Really, I’m just trying to say that while I love the spontaneity of summer I sure am looking forward to getting back to the structure of fall where I feel more at peace.  And isn’t a bit of peace all one needs anyway?  It’s really just that peace looks different for everyone.  Sometimes it’s hard to remember that.

Menu Plan for August 23 – 29

Monday: Homemade spaghetti

Tuesday:  Chicken pot pie with pumpkin crust

Wednesday:  BBQ Ranch Salad

Thursday: Tortellini and spinach soup with garden salad and rolls

Friday Fun Night Dinner: Delicious Oatmeal Pancakes from Gooseberry Patch cookbook: Grandma’s Kitchen

Saturday:  Nay’s birthday dinner!  Creamy Pumpkin Pasta, with Vanilla cake and White Chocolate Frosting

Sunday: Leftover Night

I’m still trying to deal a bit with Nay turning two.  I’m not ready to talk about it yet.  Luckily my friend Margaret had her baby a few days ago so as soon as she’s had some time to recover I’m going to get my little paws on some newborn baby.

Now when I ask Nay if he's my baby, he says 'no mommy, that's silly, Nay's a big boy'

I think I’m going to go cry now.

Hugs,

Jenn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robynn permalink
    August 24, 2010 2:10 am

    Oh my goodness look how young Cake is!!!!!! WOW it’s all going waaaaay too fast. Slow down little ones….I don’t want to miss a second. I love you guys

Leave a comment